Marriage Equality USA

Stay Informed

Join Our 5th Circuit National Community Call on Jan. 9


Please join Marriage Equality USA, the Montrose Center from Houston TX, Resource Center from TX, Equality Texas, Stonewall Democrats of Dallas TX, and the Mississippi Gulf Coast Rainbow Center for a national COMMUNITY CALL to be held this evening, Friday, January 9th to discuss the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals marriage hearing.

SCOTUS (the Supreme Court of the United States) discussed marriage cases from Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Ohio and Tennessee during their private conference today, January 9. The justices will decide whether or not to hear a marriage equality case, or cases, in their 2015 term. However, as of early this afternoon, Lyle Denniston from SCOTUSblog reported that the high Court granted no new cases today. The orders released were mostly routine. The next orders are due out Monday, January 12 at 9:30 a.m. We will discuss possible SCOTUS developments as part of this call.

SIGN UP NOW FOR THE CALL! Call Time: 6pm PT / 7pm MT / 8pm CT / 9pm ET 

Today, 9 January 2015, the 5th Circuit Court of Appeals in New Orleans heard marriage equality cases Robicheax v. Caldwell from Louisiana, Campaign for Southern Equality v. Bryant from Mississippi and DeLeon v. Perry from Texas.

You are invited to our Community Call to discuss what occurred in court, to hear community reaction, and to ask questions about what the hearing might portend for the marriage equality movement. This call is open to all supporters of marriage equality and allies -- feel free to share this info!

Participants on the call will include: Kathleen Perrin, Director, Equality Case Files; John A. Nechman of Katine & Nechman in Houston, TX (a leading law firm doing work for LGBTQ Texans); and, host John Lewis, Director of Legal and Policy, Marriage Equality USA. The call will be moderated by Brian Silva, Executive Director of Marriage Equality USA.

To receive the call in information, sign up now! All attendees will receive the call information by email today, 9 January 2015.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.